7 Stages Of Lewy Body Dementia
Written by Brian B

7 Stages Of Lewy Body Dementia

7 Stages Of Lewy Body Dementia

Often confused for schizophrenia or Alzheimer’s, Lewy Body Dementia (LBD) is one of the most common forms of dementia. LBD can either develop slowly or quickly over time when combined with other brain disorders, according to nia.nih.gov. On average, LBD symptoms are present for a long time before changes become noticeable. While the lifespan associated with those suffering from LBD is 5-8 years, recent studies have shown it is possible to live anywhere from 2-20 years after diagnosis.

Stages Of Lewy Body Dementia

Typically, LBD is categorized by three stages: early, middle and late. The beginning of LBD can include some mild hallucinations or delusions. Individuals suffering from the first stages may act out some dreams while sleeping. Slight movement difficulties have also been linked to the start of LBD.

Memory should remain intact during the early stages, but moments of confusion are still possible. Slight cognitive changes may be observed at this point.

Stage 1. No Noticeable Changes

The first stage of LBD usually goes unnoticed by friends and family. LBD will have no impact on an individual’s life during stage one.


  • No symptoms present.

Stage 2. Mild Changes

Just like the previous stage, this point of LBD will yield very little signs that a disease is present. Memory issues may be easily passed off as a normal sign of aging.


  • Some difficulty finding the right words.
  • Still possess ability to overcome memory issues.
  • Normal functioning in and around the home.

Stage 3. Noticeable Changes

The third stage of LBD is where most of the changes can be noticed. Loved ones should be able to see alterations in the individual’s thinking, reasoning and actions. Memory issues will become more troublesome at this point.


  • Moments of forgetfulness.
  • Trouble recalling certain words and names.
  • Trouble paying attention.
  • Money management issues.

Stage 4. Mild Dementia

Despite the mild dementia, anyone going through this stage of LBD should still be able to recall friends, family and significant past events.


  • Trouble with motor skills.
  • Forgetting some names and items.
  • Daily routine issues.
  • Forgetting where items had been placed.

Stage 5. Moderate To Severe Dementia

Individuals at this point should still remember family members, but they will likely have increased trouble recalling past events. Anyone suffering from LBD will need help performing daily tasks during stage five.


  • Personality changes.
  • Mood swings.
  • Bladder issues.
  • Increased problems with memory.
  • Repetitive thoughts and questions.

Stage 6. Severe Mental Decline

Memories will quickly fade during this stage of LBD. It’s strongly recommended to invest in round-the-clock at-home care during this stage.


  • Unusual eating habits.
  • Getting lost and confused.
  • Trouble speaking.
  • Delusions.
  • Strong mood swings.
  • Lack of awareness.

Stage 7. Final Stage

At this time, individuals will no longer be able to recognize loved ones. 24-hour care is now a necessity.


  • Loss of ability to speak, eat and swallow.
  • Constant disorientation.
  • Loss of bladder/bowel control.
  • Bed ridden.

MeasurAbilities, LLC

Thinking about adding safety grab bars, a raised toilet seat or other modifications to prevent falls in your home? Our physical and occupational therapists provide free home safety screenings, and will make clinically guided fall prevention recommendations, as well as create a customized plan to fit your individual needs. We follow up with clinically guided installation of all of our fall prevention home safety products.

Our clinically guided solutions will ensure you and your loved ones can navigate your home environment safely and with confidence. Visit our Home Safety Solutions page to learn about the products and services we provide and install (we are licensed, bonded and insured), to help you prevent falls in your home.

Related Posts

Installing Safety Grab Bars

Installing safety grab bars can be a relatively straightforward DIY project, but it's important to ensure their proper installation for safety and functionality. Here's what you need to know: Before you begin: Planning and Location: Identify the user's needs: Consider their height, strength, and specific requirements when choosing locations and types of grab bars. Choose the [...]

Functional Capacity Evaluations (FCEs) and Physical Therapy

Read on to learn more about functional capacity evaluations and physical therapy. Functional Capacity Evaluations (FCEs): What are they? An FCE is a set of tests administered by a qualified professional (usually a physical or occupational therapist) to assess your ability to perform daily activities and job-related tasks. What do they involve? These tests typically include: History [...]

What Is A Disability Functional Capacity Evaluation (FCE) Test?

A Disability Functional Capacity Evaluation (FCE) is a comprehensive assessment conducted by healthcare professionals, often occupational therapists or physical therapists, to evaluate an individual's physical and functional abilities. The primary purpose of an FCE is to assess how an individual's health condition, injury, or disability affects their capacity to perform various tasks and activities, particularly [...]

4 thoughts on “7 Stages Of Lewy Body Dementia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *